What gnomes and toddlers can teach us about blogging . . .

I love blogging. It satisfies an urge that I have – the urge to talk. But blogging is about a whole lot more than just having your soap box moment. I have been blogging for a couple of weeks now, and something was scratching the nether regions of my consciousness. Something was wrong. And I stayed away for a couple of days, trying to figure it out.  And then I had my eureka moment . . .ameleah1

But it began a week ago, when I took my granddaughters to the animal farm. The youngest, Ameleah, just fell in love with one of the gnomes, and promptly sat down and asked the gnome to be her friend. Needless to say, the gnome smiled in a friendly manner, and looked pretty and colourful, but he wasn’t about to become her friend. I eventually distracted her with promises of all the lovely smelling donkeys and pigs and goats that were waiting for their lettuce leaves and bread. But she really wanted to be the gnome’s friend. Two year old minds are not easy to change.

Then today we went to feed the animals again – I don’t know what they would do without us – and there was Mr Gnome again. I’m not sure it was the same one, but Ameleah went and sat herself down next to him and said in her adorable helium voice : “You be my fwend?” And what did the lifeless chunk of concrete do? He just sat there and ignored my granddaughter. Oh, he still looked cute and colourful, but that is all he is good for. He ain’t gonna be anybody’s friend. Ever.

ameleah2Then the clichéd penny dropped. That was the problem with blogging. I am trying to make friends with bloggers, but most of them are gnomes – concrete ones. They have great looking blogs and they say great things, but that’s where it ends. Because they never look further than their gnome noses. Look, I make an effort, and I will read your posts and say something as often as possible, because I believe that blogging is a way to build some sort of friendships in Blogville. If I have nothing to say, I like to leave a “like” or two where it fits. Don’t get me wrong, I have made some really super friends here that I would invite to dinner any day of the week (most of them would need to be chaperoned, though, or muzzled at the very least), but there is a large number of people that have ignored the fact that I am a person with my own ideas too, and am not just here for their edification. In other words, you stroke my ego and I’ll stroke yours. That’s what friends are for.

Anyway, now that I know what the problem is, I also know how to solve it. If you won’t be my friend, I will just go and search for another. The donkeys at least see the lettuce in my hand and smile at me before making funny noises. Okay, my rant is over. I feel much better. And, by the way, if you have just read this post, it’s not meant for you. But then you will know exactly what I am talking about.

32 thoughts on “What gnomes and toddlers can teach us about blogging . . .

  1. Chaperoned, yes…hopefully not muzzled! Maybe that’s why you suggested tea instead of dinner…hmmm.
    Hang in there…I’ve been doing this for half a year now…not long in the blogging world, at all…but it takes time to really connect. And believe it or not some of us bloggers are shy…like actors when they’re not acting…strange but true.
    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm, chaperoned does have a nice ring to it. When you said it, I thought of Scarlett O’Hara. Okay, so you get to come to dinner (forget tea) in a green gingham dress with Rhett Butler . . . and a chaperone.
      I find that blogging liberates me, and I can be anyone or anything, and I have more courage than I would in ‘real life’ (so this isn’t real?). But I really get what you are saying. And thanks for the words of encouragement. I actually can’t stop now, it’s too nice to give up. 🙂

      Like

    • Good point, about the people watching. Some people don’t really want to participate, and I guess I understand that. But I would rather have five friends than a hundred gnomes. Thanks for coming out of the shadowlands. At least I now know that you are there.

      Like

  2. Dang! I tried to make friends with some gnomes too. I thought they ignored me ’cause I pronounced their names wrong! But they were just concrete all along. Makes me feel better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually have three granddaughters, but the youngest one is only four months old so she doesn’t really want to visit the animal farm yet. There is Alyssum who is five, Ameleah who is two and Madison, the baby. And I have to agree with you, Paul, they are the best fun in the world. My life would be dull and empty without my princesses. But you know exactly what I am talking about! Everything we should have done with our kids we do with our grandchildren. And some . . .

      Like

      • Isn’t that the truth, and I can’t say why that is with any real degree of certainty. I feel regret not having done many of the things I now take time to do with my grand kids. Those are events I can still do with them, but not with the same wonder or impact that it would have had when they were younger. Too busy working then. On the other hand our oldest granddaughter is about to turn 15, and it is wonderful to be able to experience events with her while being physically able to do so, without feeling like a grandparent… if you get my meaning. In that sense, I was surprised to find out that you are a grandparent. And I mean that in a good way! ;O)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aw, that’s so sweet. Amazing what the dermabrasion setting on my cell phone can accomplish.
        I think you are right, we were trying to keep them fed and clothed – entertainment was not really high up on the To Do list. Perhaps it’s a good thing, otherwise we would have allowed them to jump on the beds WE were paying off, and eat candy before the dinners WE were working hard to put in their mouths.
        No, all things considered, it’s the way it’s supposed to be, so we shouldn’t beat ourselves up about it.
        You don’t look a day over 17. Sorry, I’m judging you by your behaviour. 🙂

        Like

      • Dermabrasion setting (LOL) I want one of those, I need one of those! Yes its true, I’m a big kid at heart. I know we shouldn’t beat ourselves up over the lack of time spent doing things we wanted to do with our kids, and our kids tell us that too. Still, it may be part of the reason we compensate for it by making the time now with our grand kids.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always wanted to be Scarlett! I’ll be there…and eat and flirt as much as I want. Rhett won’t mind…that’s why he loves me 😉
    Glad you’re loving the blogging!

    Like

  4. I know just what you mean about the gnomes. No matter how often I ask them or even offer them a bit of my dark chocolate ginger biscuit ( anyone who knows me knows that’s rare) they just won’t answer me. I don’t know why they’re being stand-offish, I’d make a good fwend.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think. Really!

