Black Hole VS Rabbit Hole

Work sucks . . . like a black hole.  black hole

Been thinking about that amazing phenomena – the black hole. But because I am not a physics or astronomy major (but I do have a cousin who is an astrophysicist, if that earns me any respect out there), I didn’t think about it for long.

I just know I have spent the last couple of weeks in the centre of one such black hole, where gravity is big (how else can a lit major describe it?). I may know nothing about physics, but I sure do know about being sucked into work mode and being held captive until the powers that be decide to release their grip on you for a brief moment.

Yep, it’s thesis season, so poor editors around the globe are burning the midnight oil (after all, it’s dark in the black hole). We are chopping phrasal verbs and culling clichés and checking SVA’s. I won’t bore you further. But if you have missed my presence, (all 2,75 of you who have been waiting for me to post a blog – gnomes included), it’s NOT because I hit the NY Times best seller list. Or ran away with Johnny Depp.

No, it’s far more distracting than either of those.

Work!

You know, the little thing we discussed earlier than puts food in the fridge (you still have to cook it) and clothes on your back. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE thesis editing. Sometimes I feel like I’m a diamond cutter/polisher, chipping away at the bits of dull carbon until the lump of rock resembles something a woman will nod to. I really enjoy my job, but it seriously is like being sucked into a black hole, where Facebook, WordPress, and creative writing do not exist.alice

So, I have not heard the ‘ping!’ on my phone, announcing that it is time to return to the black hole, kicking and screaming (and then loving it when I’m there). That means . . .

. . . I get to follow Alice down the rabbit hole, where anything is possible and everything is allowed and crazy is expected. Today I am going to work on a cover that currently looks too much like a Kindle-generated cover for my liking. Then I do some seriously overdue editing (of my own work) and a draft outline of another novel.

What? There are only 24 hours in a day?alice johnny

Provided I don’t hear a ping in the next 24 hours, I’m off to a tea party . .  Hope to see you there.

12 thoughts on “Black Hole VS Rabbit Hole

  1. I have recently escaped the black hole as well but my time is short until I have to return. I really enjoyed this post. If we can’t laugh and have fun with our burdens then what good is it??
    Thank you for reading and following my blog. I enjoyed yours, it is light-hear-ted and fun in spite of the serious things of everyday life. I could stand a bit of that lens in my writing, I lean more towards the serious. Thank you for making me smile and I do not have a book for sale 🙂
    Cliff

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think. Really!

